Project Caravan – Creating a Creative Space (fingers crossed!)

My lovely neighbour the artiste had a caravan for her studio for quite some time. I had envy. Sometimes I feel like I am going mad for lack of a little bit of space to call my own – to create things, and to be called away in the middle of them and then be able to go back, knowing it won’t be ruined. Well, neighbour/friend N is in the process of creating a studio from their garage, and so gave me her caravan. I know, RIGHT?! (hehehe, that ones for you, N!)

And here it is!

"Pink caravan, no crushed velvet seats, riding nowhere at all, going down no streets..."

I love this, in all its glory. I LOVE the pink. I will change it, because I’m still not that much of a pink person, but man I love it – so unashamedly female – yelling ‘this is MY SPACE!’ to the world.

And now I’m in the process of doing it up a bit, before I move my craft and arty stuff (and possibly myself hehehe no, probably wont be allowed) out there. Here are some photos!

These, by the way, aren’t – strictly speaking – before photos.

the front - and the perspex window we put in.

My lovely husband put in a snap-together wood floor, and we’ve swapped one broken window for a perspex window. I have also cleaned up some surfaces, and changed the cupboards (that had a sink) into a lift-top storage space. That work aside, I still have a lot left to do. I am also really impatient, and want it done yesterday. But, we don’t have a lot of money, so we’ll do bits as we can.

The back - since this photo I attached the counter top with hinges, so it lifts up ๐Ÿ™‚

I have plans for this caravan, oh yes I do. I’ll post more photos as things happen!

There was a little fridge (broken) in the top right hand corner, I'm going to put up a little cupboard when the walls are done.

Posted on April 6, 2012, in Sight and tagged , . Bookmark the permalink. 15 Comments.

  1. Reblogged this on westsideluxeliving and commented:
    super!

  2. I’m really looking forward to seeing it done – but more than that I’m really impressed with how hands on you are. So many people (esp myself) would look at that as “too hard” and walk off, but you make it work for you, and put tons of effort and cunning into doing it right. Love it.

    • hehehe cute! Thanks – for me its just my impatience, I want it done NOW! That and sometimes I get scared using giant power tools I’ve never used before. Don’t tell anyone I said that though, ok? ๐Ÿ˜€

  3. This is me being insanely jealous! I love that space!

    • I’d like to get everyone one, or a little wood cabin to hide in the backyard, if I could! Especially women… seems we really luck out on getting our own space. Just everyone elses.. to clean…

      • We’re in the city and our house is set on the back corner of our lot. Almost the entirety of our yard is front and side so not outbuilding for us. We’re not yard people so we’re happy with the set up. We did manage to find a house with an enormous basement and a woodshop already set up. I have the space should I choose to redesign and refinish it to my purposes. But that sounds a lot like work ๐Ÿ˜‰

  4. This is proooooooobably the coolest thing I’ve ever seen in my life. I am so insanely jealous. I cannot WAIT to see what it looks like when you get it all set up.

    ~Daniรฉl

  5. Wow this is amazing!!! Cant wait to see how you go. Just wow so excited for you!!!

Leave a Reply

