KBShimmer: Quantum Leaf – Swatches

At the request of the lovely June (who has a cute nail blog here!) I have KBShimmer’s Quantum Leaf to show off today.

KB Shimmer Quantum Leaf

I had a major crush on this polish – all it’s autumnal beauty, mustardy gold base with gold and red glitters – and was super happy to be able to buy it.

2013_01110048

And… I don’t think it suits me. Not in summer, anyway.

2013_01110052

My skin tone is quite naturally yellow, and in summer… well, I go olive tan which rules out lots of these colours. But I love this polish anyway, and will try again in winter! These photos show three coats, and a thick coat of Misa BREAKneck top coat.

2013_01110049

This was lovely and easy to apply, great formula, and although it had some patches to start out with, it was super opaque by the three coats with a easy generous sprinkling of glitter. It definitely needed more top coat though, next time I wear it I’ll be breaking out the Nail Pattern Boldness Glitter Food, because some of those glitters have a slight curve (not curl, but definite curve) and were quite rough. Some weren’t. A good coat of Glitter Food or other thick glitter covering top coat would make it perfect.

2013_01110054

This was moderately chunky, because of the larger glitters, and next time I might layer a couple of coats over a yellowish base, to see if that makes it thinner.

2013_01110059

I did check out the layering idea, to see if perhaps the colour would change with a different base. I used Color Club With Abandon, a super pretty dark chocolate brown packed with gold shimmer.

2013_01110067

Sun

Color Club With Abandon

And yeah, it changed it alright. This is one coat of Quantum Leaf over With Abandon.

2013_01110073

Ugh. Sorry about that. That was horrible.

2013_01110077

So, all up, my thoughts? This polish, on me, looked o.k. but not great.  It was quite chunky and the glitters were rough. It was opaque on it’s own, went on well, dried moderately quickly and was surprisingly easy to remove. And I love it. Do beware of skin tone issues if you have olive skin, would be my only main point. Even though there was tonal conflict, I couldn’t take my eyes off this, in a good way. It IS autumn in a bottle.

2013_01110060

Thanks for reading, have a great day!

Ami 🙂

Posted on January 15, 2013, in Sight and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink. 7 Comments.

  1. Ämmm iiii dont know…somehow Quantum Leaf just doesn’t look “right” if you know what i mean…Maybe it would look better on someone with very dark skin tone?? What do you think?

    • hehe, I know exactly what you mean! I think it needs either a lighter skin tone, or quite dark. My mid olive just doesn’t show it off to best advantage. At least it doesn’t give me lobster hands, which is something 🙂

  2. Hey, that’s me! 😀 SO sweet of you to mention and swatch this for me…I know you said you’re not sure it works, but I think it looks fab on you! Except for layered over the brown, maybe :p Your commentary on that part cracked me up! Thanks so much for swatching for me! 🙂

    • hehe yes, it’s you! 😀 I think I’d be happier with it in the winter when my skin loses just a shade or two, but that’s me being pretty fussy, really. I do love it. Did you cross it off your list, or keep it on? I don’t regret getting it, thats for sure, it’s so unique. Hahaha over the brown it was HIDEOUS! I love it when I muck it up that completely, I always have to share to make someone else laugh 😀 You’re very welcome, and thanks again for reading, commenting,and requesting! 🙂

      • Haha, only did I keep it on my list, I went over to her site and hovered over the ‘purchase’ button for like five minutes arguing with myself over whether I could splurge on it right now or not ;D

        And I love that you share the bad manis too. It totally cracked me up and showed me what NOT to layer it over when I finally get it one day!

Leave a comment