Polish Bantam (chickens) and Nail Amusement…

These two cuties are my Polish Bantam hens, Stoner and Goofy. They were my mother and aunts chickens, and now are mine. Or I’m theirs. I think chooks are a bit more like cats than dogs: they have staff / feeders, not owners 😀

Stoner is grey, Goofy is white. I didn’t name them, promise, but I did change their name order around, because that’s how I remember it – Stone = Grey. And of COURSE that’s what she was named after.

Although they are called Polish chickens; “the oldest accounts of crested chickens comes from the Netherlands. In addition to combs, their heads are adorned with large crests due to a cone (called a protuberance) on the top of their skull. The crests cover almost their entire heads. They are normally tame chickens, but can be easily timid or frightened because the crests on their heads limits their vision. This limited vision can impact their temperament.Polish chickens are bred primarily as a show bird, but were originally egg layers. Accordingly, Polish rarely go broody and are noted for their white eggs. Information from good old Wiki, page here.

Isnt’t that the cutest? They come in awesome colours, and the roosters have this hilarious mop on their heads. Adorable! Photo from this website here

My two girls are pretty quiet – they were top of the pecking order (though I think they needed little ladders to peck the Rhode Island Red hens) before integrating with my vast flock, but they have found their feet here too. They’re middle range in the pecking order, and sweet little things while being not at all timid. It always brightens my day to see their little heads a-bobbling as they go about their business.

So, here are my nails as inspired by my Polish banties!

Polish Bantam Nails

The white was CR 58 (standard white creme), with a few speckles of China Glaze Sea Spray sponged onto the tips.

The grey was a base coat of Misa Grey Matters, and one sponged layer of China Glaze Sea Spray, and then I got lazy and brushed on more Sea Spray at the tips instead of sponging again – it looked ok in real life, but in macro, not so much. One coat of Orly Sec ‘n’ Dry over the top, and done!

These would NOT have been practical at ALL.. but they did make me giggle.

Have a great day everyone!

Posted on August 3, 2012, in Sight and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink. 4 Comments.

  1. it makes me giggle too, love it.

  2. Omg, hilarious!

    We love our Polish. They are so adventurous and kid-friendly, too. My son Max loves to put them on his shoulder. =)

    ~Daniél

    • Awwww cute! They are super cool little birds, hey. And they lay a decent sized egg for how small they are – with almost the same sized yolk as a full sized egg, just less white. 🙂

Leave a Reply

