LUSH Lustre Body Powder Photos and Review

Yep, I found a reason to go to Lush anyway, in spite of doing the anti-animal testing petition online. Was pretty simple, along the lines of  ‘I wanna go!’ I still have some Lush vouchers left over from my birthday – assorted family members chipped in and got me a heap, I am so lucky! Thanks again, you guys. All of you. You know who you are 😉

First and foremost among yesterdays purchases was Lustre, a brand new addition to Lush’s range. Its a shimmery gold body powder, scented with their Lust perfume – i.e a whole heap of Jasmine, a touch of Ylang ylang and Rose, and a subtle hint of vanilla and sandalwood. Sandalwood is my favourite essential oil in the whole wide world (although I have a soft spot for many of them) – and I wish there was a bit more Sandalwood in it. But I do like this blend! My mother hates Jasmine with a passion, it smells like cat pee to her. Huh. Takes all kinds, right? 😀

Here is the bottle pic, with all it’s fingermarks. Please ignore those.

And an ingredient list.. the label is covering Radiant Gold Lustre. I wonder what that is? Lush Speak for glitter, possibly. Don’t quote me on that, I’m guessing. 😀

Close up of the powder in the lid, to show off those glimmers – multicoloured in some lights!

And this is how it comes out – you shake it GENTLY and it falls out in little lumpy mountains like this. Cute. Be resigned to sparkly palms. Highly Edward 😀

But once blended in, it takes on a subtle sheen, very pretty, and a lovely fragrance.It also has a lovely soft talc feel to it, thanks to the cornflour and, er, talc. Soft without being greasy!

Click to see more shimmer!

I bought this because I love glitter – and could see potential for a front-of-shin shimmer (to make legs look thinner, it’s a trick apparantly!), collar bones and cheek bone highlights. Also, for my hair! I tried this yesterday, and it worked really well. My hair did have a bit more shimmer, and it smelled really nice. It also contained my frizzies a bit without that horrible gunked-up product feeling, so it’s a triple win for me, am super happy I bought this! Was $20, and I think it will last a long time as I only need a tiny bit.

Thanks, Lush, for not only being ethical re. animal testing and education, but also for continuing to bring out new products for us to check out. 😀  You can get their goodies from their website, too, if your local shop isn’t so local! NZ site here, otherwise there is bound to be one for your country, just spank Google for the info 🙂

Hope everyone has a sparkly happy day!

Ami 🙂

Posted on April 25, 2012, in Aroma, Sight, Touch and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink. 11 Comments.

  1. I must say I kinda want to try this now… lol thanks for the review!

    • You should! Lush do give testers, go see if you like it! 😀 You’re more than welcome, and thanks for reading

      • really? How do I get a hold of a tester?? and yeah of course, love reading your posts! 😀

      • You should be able to go into the shop and just ask – I have, for shampoos and face cleansers – brilliant because it lasts a long time, too. Fingers and toes crossed they do in your local shop – they really should, anyway. Would be brilliant if they did online, right?! Aww, thanks – you made my day! 😀

      • Hmm wow I had no idea ! I hope they do that at my local shop I’ll have to go and check! Thanks! It would be awesome if they did online, but oh well then everyone would go and ask for samples wouldn’t they? Thanks for the recommendations! And of course its true!!

  2. hi ami, Lustre is one of my fav lush products

  3. Great review! This looks really pretty 🙂

    AddictedtoOPI

  4. Lovely review!! 😀 I really want to try this. They probably used mica for the lustre 🙂

Leave a Reply

