Messy Mansion stamping plate MM40

Just for fun, I thought I’d do a review of a Messy Mansion plate. I have bought two of their plates previously, and adored the quality, and when I saw they’d restocked some plates and the stamping heads, I couldn’t resist and nabbed another two plates and the soft stamp set with the tin.

Stamping plate! This one is a knitting plate, though I see that crochet needle over there too, plus zips, buttons, and a cat. Because we all know how much cats like knitting. Or impeding knitting 😀

mm 2

Like most plates, they arrive in a little bag…

mm 1

with a blue protective plastic cover over them, which needs to be removed before use.

mm 3

And the stamping heads – in a really adorable tin. Note though, it’s a small tin. I hoped to be able to fit a few more stamping heads in it, and I can, but not a lot.

mm 4

Still, very cute 😀 These ones are the soft stamping heads, and I have a stamping barrel already to use with them. These are fractionally larger than the ones I am used to, which is perfect because they stay IN the barrel of the tool. The other ones would fall out and annoy the crap out of me.

mm 5

Designs! I tried one of each of the knitting patterns, first over deep red (Warpath)

please ignore the mess along my cuticle, I used acetone and a brush but that bit remained like a stubborn salesperson... ugh

please ignore the mess along my cuticle, I used acetone and a brush but that bit remained like a stubborn salesperson… ugh

and then over a lighter yellow with glitter in it (You Go, Glen Coco).

mm glen coco

I had this on my thumbs, and it made me giggle – I smudged it, and it looks like it reads ‘I love knots’. No, not in wool I don’t 😀

mm knit

The stamping polish was one I made, but if anyone is looking for one, may I recommend Mundo De Unas or Kleancolor Black or White for stamping with.

So there it is! I have used the fox and wolf plate several times too, and it’s gorgeous. My favourite images there are the wolf howling at the moon, and the fox and the raven in the Celtic circle. 😀

Have  a great day!

Ami

Posted on October 4, 2014, in Sight and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink. 2 Comments.

  1. I don’t know what I’m doing wrong, but I just can’t seem to get the hang of stamping. I can never get an even print and it always comes out too light (not enough polish) over my base color. Your nails look great!

    • Thank you for the compliment! All I can see is the flaws, ugh. It’s taken me a long time to get here – and one of the reasons was just what you said there, not enough polish. I’ve had to learn to be lots gentler with scraping – even if there are a few streaks on the surface, it won’t usually transfer with the image, but if I scrape it perfectly clean I’ll take off too much polish from the image. Especially the larger ones – I usually end up scooping the polish right out of the middle of those. VERY annoying. But yep, changing the angle of the scrape, scraping lightly, transferring the stamp faster, all help. Sometimes it’ll all go wrong for me no matter what, but usually that helps a bit. Thank you for reading! (and good luck, it’s awesome when it starts working, and I bet you are much better at it than you think) 🙂

Leave a Reply

