Skydiving Nails :D

Saturday a week and a bit ago, I went skydiving with my mother and Sister V. My mother had gone the week before and was so hyped about it she wanted to go again (as in, immediately!) and offered to take my sister and I with her. Sister V leapt at the chance. I took a night to think it over and do the research .. .which all came back with, if something happens and I die in a tandem jump, it’d be a miracle. A nasty one, but none-the-less, miraculous (which I call Terry Pratchett’s Miracle, as it was one of his amazing books that pointed that pointed that concept out to me) πŸ˜€

So… after that angst, next came the nail angst! (ok, and the have a shower / straighten hair / shave legs angst because hey, if you’re going to fall out of a plane, might as well feel like you made the effort should someone have to lever you out of the ground, right?). But THEN came the nails πŸ˜€ I tried a few different combos, and they failed. The polish themselves worked, but little things like my eldest son bumping them etc etc.. so I went another option.

EdM Hole in the Sky

This is – mostly – Emily de Molly Hole in the Sky. My Sister C bought this for me (wheee!) and it is STUNNING. Perfect pale periwinkle blue with silver holo glitters including mid size silver holo dots. Just gorgeous.

EdM Hole in the SKy 4

The accent nail is Star Kin Cashmere as the base, stamped with Star Kin Green Shift (from the Bundle Monster plate) to make the earth, I filled in some more with a small brush and Green Shift, and then used the brush to fill Star Kin OhNo! around the edges for the space / starry sky. I feel like I could have done a better job, but I liked it overall. πŸ™‚

EdM Hole in the Sky 3

And I LOVED Hole in the Sky. One, it’s the perfect name for going skydiving. Two, I got to say ‘I am wearing this so I can make a Hole in the Sky, and NOT a Hole in the Ground’ – which is the kind of thing I really enjoy saying πŸ˜€ I am sad, yes. But I have fun with my type of sad πŸ˜€

EdM Hole in the Sky 2

And how was it? Amazing. I’m NOT a thrillseeker – I’ve been on one rollercoaster and hated it. I went for the experience, I wanted to know what it was like, I’ve always wanted to fly, and to take a ride in an open helicopter or something (ok, maybe I just don’t seek all the thrills but there are a few…). And I’ll admit, those first five seconds before the stabiliser parachute opened were the most terrifying thing. My tandem jump guru took me through a nice barrel roll during that time so I did get to look up at the plane as we fell backwards, sort of. I may have been quite busy screaming and trying to turn us over into a proper falling position πŸ˜€ BUT once I was in the proper flying position, it was amazing. We were still freefalling, we did 10,000 feet in 60 seconds, but there was some purchase (especially once the stabilizer chute opened), the view was amazing, and it was just wow. Then the main parachute opened and it was surreal and serene and glorious and I wish that I could parachute everywhere, every day. I didn’t want that to end (though I did tell him off every time he tried to spin us – I don’t like that feeling, plus I wanted the float down to last forever) :D. So, yes. Amazing. I’m not sure I’ll do it again. O.K, I’m pretty sure I’ll do it again.. but may leave it for when I need a life reboot. Because man it does that. YAHOOOOO! πŸ˜€

Parachuting over Lake Taupo with Liam, the tandem jump guy :)

Parachuting over Lake Taupo with Liam, the tandem jump guy πŸ™‚

Have a great day, and may you find your own life reboot when you need one!

Ami πŸ™‚

Posted on January 23, 2014, in Sight, unCommon and tagged , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink. Leave a comment.

Leave a Reply

