New weekly nail polish challenge – Polish Addicts of New Zealand (PANZ)

So, as yet we don’t have a punchy theme name. But,we have a large and growing group of amazing nail polish addicts who live in New Zealand, and meet up on our Facebook page to brag, swap, chat and become totally enabled in our polish addiction. I mean, seriously, thanks to these wonderful people my nail polish collection has grown exponentially. I do mean thanks, they are all wonderful and I love my stash πŸ˜€ (polish stash, people. We’re talking about nail polish here).

So, we were kicking around ideas on doing a series of weekly nail polish posts, with a different theme every week. I am very keen for this to be fun, and not about nail art in specific, more about the love of nail polish. Doing these aren’t compulsory,Β  but if anyone is keen they can do whatever works for them, and sending in blog links or just photos.

So, for the first ever PANZ group theme is: Favourite Colour!

And, right off the bat, I’m going to cheat. Because, yeah, I didn’t have time to prepare anything! And also, it’s legit – I really CAN’T choose a favourite colour, and I want these themes to be able to be interpreted really loosely πŸ˜€ So here, from this tutorial here, is my first attempt at butterfly nail art!

2013_05030056

I decided to make each nail have a different colour, and all of these areΒ  L.A Colors Color Craze polishes (a gift from my sister-in-law, Jeannie, THANK YOU!). They don’t have names on the bottles, but having done some research I *think* they are these polishes, here – although my blue looks quite a bit darker than hers.

L.A. Colors butterfly nails

before the top coat was added πŸ™‚

I used two coats of each of these colours, and the green and pink DEFINITELY needed at least one more extra coat for opacity – luckily the black bits hide the nail line quite nicely πŸ˜€

2013_05030045

I then added a spectraflair top coat (one I made, but any one will do) to give them all an equal amount of shimmer, and then followed the tutorial, adding the black polish (Black nail art pen and China Glaze Liquid Leather), and the silver dots (silver nail art pen), then finished off with Misa BREAKneck polish.

2013_05030048

I even did my right hand! That was tricky. Actually, I did all this once, mangled it completely because brush was too big and everything just went wrong, so this here is my second attempt. And STILL I won’t show you my right hand πŸ˜€

L.A Colors Butterfly Wing nails

I like them though, it’s a cool way to wear skittles!

2013_05030053

And yes, I can’t choose a favourite colour. At gunpoint, it’d be blue. When it comes to polish though, I have pretty equal amounts of purple, blue, green and pink. And more glitter than anything else πŸ˜€

Have a wonderful day!

Posted on May 5, 2013, in Sight and tagged , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink. 2 Comments.

  1. wow those look amazing!!

Leave a Reply

