Pretty & Polished: It Gets Better swatches

I have had my eye on this gorgeous little polish for awhile, and finally caved in when I bought my colour changing Pretty & Polished polishes (article here), because it was FINALLY back in stock, and I love it. I do.

Pretty & Polished It Gets Better

Primarily it’s a minty green with a very fine green shimmer, and a rainbow of holographic hexes floating throughout. The formula was really good, it applied really easily and was opaque in two coats, shown in the photos at 2 coats with Misa BREAKneck top coat.

2013_04180007

The glitter hexes applied a little sporadically, but it didn’t really matter, they are still pretty! The shimmer, however, was pretty shy, and I don’t think I managed to get any photos of it. Chronically shy. Like, you probably wouldn’t know it was there unless you’d looked closely at the bottle first, shy.

2013_04180013

The colour, for me, was perfect. The best light green for my skin tone I have found – no lobster hands at all!

2013_04180008

I had to wear this to celebrate New Zealand voting to legalise marriage between two consenting adults, regardless of gender. Yeah, you could say ‘gay marriage’, but I don’t think that’s the point really. The point is us growing up as a nation, and saying gender really DOESN’T matter here, love does. And that’s HUGE. I am seldom proud of my country, but I had some very proud and happy feelings the morning I found the bill had passed. Way to go, those 77 politicians that ‘aye-d’ it, and all the people out there supporting and promoting and picketing and signing and emailing.  And to those of you who are immediately affected by this change, congrats – sorry it’s so long overdue, and IT DOES GET BETTER!

2013_04180014

I can’t find It Gets Better on Pretty & Polished website (here) or Etsy shop (here), but she may bring it back – and check out the other amazing polishes, too. One thing I loved about this polish was that she donated some of the proceeds to the It Gets Better foundation, and I always try to support that kind of ethics in business.

2013_04180016

Have a great day! And, YAY NEW ZEALAND! GO EQUALITY! *happy dance*

Ami 🙂

Posted on April 22, 2013, in Sight and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink. Leave a comment.

Leave a Reply

