Valentine’s Nail Efforts – a belated post! :)

I don’t traditionally ‘do’ Valentine’s Day stuff, it’s the same ol’ toss up between commercial vs real vs ‘but every day should be Valentines Day when you are in a relationship’ waffle… but you know, every day ISN’T Valentines Day, and what the heck, I felt like going for girly colours and hearts. So I did.

2013_02150124

This was two coats of Revlon Temptress, topped with my glitter franken (hearts, red, and gold), no top coat here. And I guess it looked ok, but it really wasn’t me.

2013_02150129

So I added two dabbed coats of 365 Days of Color Waking Up in Vegas, and matted the whole lot with Essie Matte About You.

2013_02150132

Which I liked quite a bit more, I definitely felt I needed the black diamonds to make it a little less princess-y.

2013_02150135

The trouble was I thought it had dried, and it hadn’t, not properly… so it all ended up performing a little model of ‘continental drift causing the Himalayan mountain range on my nails, and I had to remove the whole lot. So, start again. With BLUE. Yes, thanks!

Girly Bits Arctic Sunrise

And this beauty is Girly Bits Arctic Sunrise, which I adore, and which I class as fully Valentine-appropriate because a) it has pink shimmer and b) I love it. It’s alll about love, isn’t it? 😀

Girly Bits Arctic SunriseGirly Bits Arctic Sunrise

These photos show two lovely easy coats, no top coat.

2013_02150141

Just look at that gorgeous shimmer! It’s so pretty.

2013_02150149

And then, just because, I added a veerrryyy subtle gradient by applying a thin coat of Ozotic 903 to the tips.Girly Bits Arctic Sunrise

What that meant is I had powder blue nails with pink shimmer closer to my nail beds, and green, blue, and pink shimmer on the tips.

2013_02150150

I was quite impressed with that. Sure no one else would ever notice, but I COULD SEE IT. Happy Valentines Day to meeee! 😀

2013_02150151

And then, of course, I found a glitter topper. This is All That Glitters – Whole Hearted Remix, two dabbed coats.

2013_02150153

I actually like the way it looks like the matte black and white glitters are floating high above the blue polish, it’s quite appealing for some reason.

2013_02150154

And see, blurred, you can see the colour in the shimmer change between Arctic Sunrise and 903.

2013_02150155

Close up – this was all finished with China Glaze Fast Forward top coat, which needed thinning. So it’s THICK. Ah well!

2013_02150157

Then I called my nails finished, and went off to have a lovely day. I hope you all did too, or if not, that your days today are wonderful!

Ami 🙂

Posted on March 19, 2013, in Sight and tagged , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink. Leave a comment.

Leave a Reply

