Holographic Nail Polishes Made by my Clever Mother: Part One

My lovely, talented, and super clever mother popped over to see me on Saturday. “Hi!” She says. “I had a bad day on Friday, and thought I should clean the house and burn the bad mood out productively. But instead I made nail polish. See?”

What a good plan. You should have SEEN my face as she pulls out 8 holographic polishes, and plonks them on my table. Because there are so many, and so many photos needed to be taken, I’ll split this into two lots 🙂 Here is the whole range…

2013_02240013

and I split them into warms and cools – well, white, grey, gold, and the light pink here in part one;  and fuchsia, teal, marine blue and blurple in another post. 🙂  All of these polishes were made using the Joss base from Beauty World in Australia, and holographic flakes, as well as the Joss tinters and a bit more besides 😉

So, first, White. And WOW.

2013_02240028

I adore this colour, it’s ethereal and flattering without being wishy-washy. I do want it to have more holographic shimmer to it, but that may be tricky without altering the base colour. This is the least holographic out of all 8 polishes.

2013_02240031

These show three coats, no top coat. Check out that shine! The shimmer looks silver in most lights, but you can see a subtle scattered holographic effect in very bright light.

2013_02240032

This reminds me of feathers, in some way… just so soft and pretty.

2013_02240037

Next is this gorgeous grey:

2013_02240039

And it is a grey, not a silver. It’s seriously pretty, and VERY holographic.

2013_02240042

3 coats, no top coat. Super shiny, and again, flattering – no lobster hands here!

2013_02240045

Dry time was nice and fast on this one too 🙂 I think it would make a kick-butt holographic top coat!

2013_02240047

Gold / Yellow.

2013_02240052

I don’t know if this one is gold or yellow – or both! It looks yellow in the shade, and gold in the sunlight. 3 coats, no top coat.

2013_02240055

It was sheer, and there was some VNL even at three coats.

2013_02240057

This has a medium level scattered holo effect, which flicks towards the green end of the rainbow spectra. I want to try this over black at some stage!

2013_02240059

Dusty Rose

2013_02240064

Sunlight…

2013_02240067

2 coats, no top coat. This polish had a slightly thicker formula, went on well, and dried super fast.

2013_02240070

It’s also the nicest Nana colour I have seen 😀

2013_02240072

See you in a moment with the next installment!

Ami 🙂

Posted on March 8, 2013, in Sight and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink. 9 Comments.

  1. Those are incredible!
    Are you just going to keep collecting these, or consider selling some one day? I want! Want! 😀

    • geebers that was a fast comment, Sister V. 😀 wellll we may consider selling them once we’ve tested them for longevity! You can come and steal some, though, I am sure!

  2. Awesome. I really like the white one 🙂 Dusty rose looks pretty too.

  3. Dusty Rose one is my favourite, haha I’m such a nana polish kinda person when it comes to pinks.

  4. Wow those are fantastic Ami! Your mom rocks!! lol I want a white holo so bad!! lol but everyone says it ends up looking silver not white.. IDK yours looks white…lol

Leave a Reply

