piCture pOlish Demeter: Goddess of Chocolate – swatches and layering.

What’s that? Demeter wasn’t the Goddess of Chocolate, you say? Check out this polish!

picture polish demeter

Chocolate, right? With shimmer? Yeah, I thought so too. 😀

2013_03050146

These photos show two coats of Demeter, in the early morning sunlight, no top coat.

2013_03050149

I did find that the brush was  a bit floppy, but the formula here (and so far on all piCture pOlish polishes that I have tried!) is so good that it didn’t matter.

2013_03050150

Look at that gorgeous holographic shimmer. I do like the irregular shape and size of the shimmer, it gives a fine scattered holographic effect in part, and also the appearance of a fine glitter, but it is completely smooth to touch.

2013_03050151

The most difficult thing about this polish was reducing the numbers of photos I took down to a manageable amount to post here!

2013_03050155

Then, going with the glitter theme, I added one easy coat of Hits Golden Disco (6ml), topped with a (thinned down!) coat of China Glaze Fast Forward.

Hits golden disco

Blingy!

2013_03050160

I  like this combination, the more subtle shimmer of Demeter is still peeking through quite noticeably, the fine glitter in Golden Disco increases the effect, and the holographic mid sized gold and silver glitter hexes give a bit more sparkle.

2013_03050168

It also helps extend the wear time of the base polish; my nails are moderately bendy – which means polish tends to fire off at the tips, and a glitter coat is often thick enough to prevent that from happening for longer.

2013_03050169

I like this combo! I love brown polish, especially rich chocolate browns, so Demeter is a show-stopper for me; the addition of holographic shimmers and glitters only enhance the appeal. I also think some copper, gold, or bronze toned glitter polishes would look lovely teamed with Demeter.

2013_03050173

You can buy piCture pOlish lacquers from their website here, or check for distributors closer to home. I bought the Hits polish from Llarowe, and Demeter from Gracie Lou here in New Zealand.

Have a sparkly day

Ami 🙂

Posted on March 7, 2013, in Sight and tagged , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink. 2 Comments.

  1. Every time I see Demeter I want it!! One day I’ll finally give in and buy it, but for now I’m just jealously drooling over your swatches lol.

Leave a Reply

