OPI Stay the Night – Liquid Sands – Swatches

My first OPI polish in a very long time, this is Stay the Night from the new Mariah Carey collaboration. Please don’t hold that against me. It looked a very pretty polish!

OPI Stay the Night

And, it is. These photos show three coats, and I found it needed all three: it looked good at two coats, but was a little patchy. I didn’t use top coat, and this is one of the new Liquid Sand  – aka gritty – textured polishes. One thing, in most swatches I thought it was black with pink sparks. It’s not, it’s a very dark brown instead, and it looks AMAZING.

2013_02010003

I did think this was going to be very gritty, but it feels more like fine grit sandpaper that has been worn down a bit, soft little bumps of grit, I’ve had worse grit from normal glitter polishes (China Glaze, some of yours, for example!), and this was really tactile, I kept patting my nails, but in a good way. It certainly doesn’t catch on sheets, hair or clothes, and if you were the sort of person who’d ever pick their nose *cough* then this will not interfere with your habit 😉

2013_02010004

I adored this polish. It was a lot nicer on than I thought it would be, the pink glitz added something special to the vampy brown, and it went really well with my tanned (olive) skin tone. I also think it will look great on winter hands, too!

2013_02010005

The dry time was actually quite slow (it goes on shiny but lumps up as it dries), which was moderately disappointing, but once dried it wore like iron.

2013_02010009

Whole hand photo…

2013_02010014

On the whole, I’d call this a sexy polish. A bit different, but not in-your-face, and very easy to apply and wear.

Then, because I thought I should, I added top coat. But only as an accent nail. I tell you, this was amazing straight out of the bottle!

2013_02010052

And… it was still pretty. But nothing special. To make sure it was smooth I used a coat of Nail Pattern Boldness Glitter Food, then China Glaze Fast Forward top coat. It was super smooth. And, a wee bit boring compared to it all sandy. Nice to have the versatility though!

2013_02010054

Have a wonderful day

Ami 🙂

 

Posted on February 5, 2013, in Sight and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink. Leave a comment.

Leave a Reply

