Ozotic Sugar 903: Swatches, Layering and Review

The final of the four piCture pOlish and Ozotic polishes sent for review, this is the spookily pretty Sugar 903.

Ozotic Sugar 903

Why spookily? Well, I just found that this polish, opaque in three coats (shown in these photos with three coats and no top coat) was such a glowing, multi-hued colour that it looked almost glow-in-the-dark – sort of an almost eerie luminescence. It doesn’t glow in the dark, but it really looks like it should. I love the lilac and the light blue sparks in this gorgeous glass fleck polish!

2013_01230078

Formula on this was beautiful, slightly more on the runny side than the thick, but it goes where you put it and there is no pulling, or bald spots, even with only a short time left in between coats. Dry time is slightly on the long side, I’d definitely recommend using a quick dry top coat.

2013_01230076

Like all piCture pOlish and Ozotics, these have the QR code on the side, scan it and get taken to their website 🙂

And then I layered it, to see what that would look like. I was going to choose Revlon Royal to layer it over, and I will still do that at some stage, but my hand went and chose Kleancolor Cobalt all of it’s own accord.

Ozotic Sugar 903 over Kleancolor Cobalt

Two coat of Cobalt, one of Sugar 903, no top coat.

2013_01230085

Wow, good choice, hand. I loved this. It was insanely shimmery, in the shade or sun, and just.. just.. ugh. Well, you can see 😀

2013_01230086

And whooo boy does it shine and shimmer in the sun, and the duochrome in Sugar 903 is so obvious!

2013_01230087

One thing about Sugar 903, like Beam 907, is that removal from your nails is easy. Very easy. Removal from your skin… quite tricky. Oh, there’s no staining or anything drastic, but those teeny gorgeous shimmery glass flecks love to stay on your skin for awhile afterwards. It’s not just Edward who sparkles in the sun, is what I’m saying here. You can probably see it in these photos 😀

2013_01230096

Then I thought: Challenge! I want to use ALL FOUR in one manicure. Which four? These! piCture pOlish Splash, Ozotic Sugar 903, Ozotic Beam 907 and Ozotic Scatter 912.

Splash, Beam 907, Scatter 912, Sugar 903

And… I’m quite happy with the outcome, though I can see room for improvement.

2013_01230103

I had two coats of Ozotic Scatter 912 to start with, then taped off sections (by forming an off-centered X with the striping tape). On the bottom left side I put Ozotic Sugar 903 (blue), and the top left I put Ozotic Beam 907 (white). Over all of this – after removing the tape – I put Splash.

2013_01230104

Then I thought hmmm, I don’t like how thinly I’ve put Sugar 903 on, so I freehanded another little layer over that triangle, in effect making a shimmer sandwich with Splash between the two layers. The whole lot was topped off with Misa BREAKneck.

2013_01230113

Considering I used four quite different polishes, this mani was quite subtle. I think that’s due to the softness of Sugar 903 and Beam 907, and the tie in effect of Splash. I really liked it!

2013_01230116

What do you think? piCture pOlish and Ozotic are sold through their website here, and also through Gracie Lou here in New Zealand.

2013_01230118

Thank you, Jules, for letting me have the chance to play with these gorgeous polishes, I hope my photos have done them justice.

Have a great day

Ami

*Disclosure: the Ozotic polish shown here, Sugar 903, was provided to me for review. All other polishes, bad cleanups, poor photography, overly wordy descriptions, opinions and random hand poses are entirely my own.*

Posted on January 24, 2013, in Sight and tagged , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink. 5 Comments.

  1. Love this – holographic is so on trend! x

  2. I love polishes like this that are so multifacted! I need to get my hands on some Ozotic polish already.

Leave a Reply

