Another Week Of Holiday Nubs: heaps of photos!

Week two! My nails are NOT GROWING FAST ENOUGH. Grrr. First World Problems. I have been sent some amazing polishes to review, and I can’t do justice to them with my little broken claws, but in the meantime I am having fun glitzing them up.

This is Darling Diva Polish Cherry Jubilee – three coats, and Misa BREAKneck top coat.

2012_12120001

Really super pretty!

2012_12120008

Then I mungled two fingernails and repainted those with a really nasty jelly sandwich: I used Nfu Oh 008 as the base (2 coats), then one coat of L.A. Girl Glitter Animate and a green franken, then another coat of Nfu Oh 008: all was going well until the green franken, because it had a green base colour in it and it KILLED this. Green glitter would have been nice. This looks mouldy.

2012_12120010

Moving along rapidly, I then layered Cherry Jubilee over Kleancolor White, 2 coats, and 2 coats of Cherry Jubilee.

2012_12120015

I prefer this one on it’s own, the white of Cherry Jubilee is perfect and translucent and soft without being see-through

Next mani: This is another franken of mine – which needs thinner and Nail Pattern Boldness Glitter Food, I think. It was very lumpy, and I fluctuated between hating this, and quite liking the lizard skin look.

2012_12120018

The base polish was China Glaze Solar Flare – those gold hexes, in a clear base. I added lilac shimmer, and red and green fine glitter. It really needs a mid-size (between the tiny and the gold) glitter, but I don’t have one.

2012_12120020

Next! This is China Glaze Ring in the Red – as Christmassy  a polish as can be easily found. This was really quite hard to apply! Patchiness and balding happened – I recommend leaving quite a bit of time between coats. It was also a bit pinker based than I expected, but I love the glittery-ness. This is three coats. Quite a smooth finish for  a super glitter!

2012_12120029

Then, too much of a good thing being never enough, I added one coat of L.A. Glitter Addict  Animate. Mmmm that’s what I wanted. Yes.

2012_12120030

You bored yet? Hope not, there’s more! This is three coats of China Glaze Ring in the Red, and Darling Diva Polish Mitochondral Eve. BLINGY! Christmas salad.

2012_12120039

I alternated between really adoring the colourfulness, and thinking it was a bit garish… but meh, it’s the silly season. I like being silly.

2012_12120046

Then, as a change of pace from the garish I tried this combo, and really liked it! It was rich and festive, without being too over the top. This is two coats of China Glaze Riveter Rouge – a nice rich auburn red with copper and silver mini glitters, with one thin coat of OPI Serving Up Sparkle over the top, finished with Misa BREAKneck (my new favourite top coat)

2012_12130009

And last was a series… first up, Nfu Oh 124 – a lovely dark shimmery green which was more sheer than I anticipated. Three coats, no top coat. A bit hard to get the layers even, hence the different tones of green!

2012_12130029

Then a coat of Nfu Oh 039, a super cute green-blue shift flaky

2012_12130030

And finally, for extra festive fun, a thin coat of Darling Diva Polish Holiday Lights, topped with Misa BREAKneck.

2012_12130037

 

Up close and sparkly…

2012_12130044

That’s a lot of polish changes in one week. I had loads of fun, and almost all of these had a PVA glue base coat, so I could just peel it off, and start another one. Which I did frequently, as you can tell 😀

Have a great day

Ami

Posted on December 16, 2012, in Sight and tagged , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink. Leave a comment.

Leave a Reply

