Plover Painting – using nail polish

Good morning all! It’s gorgeous here, after a few days of bleak and rain (don’t get me wrong, we desperately needed the rain, and I WAS doing a rain dance, but the sun is nice too..) and we just had a moderately lengthy, rolling earthquake so I’m feeling rather wired. Pleased to report that not ONE bottle of polish fell off my shelves. Now I need to think of some kind of barrier to keep them safe… hmmm. Any thoughts?

Ok, no time for a lengthy post, so I thought I’d quickly show you a tiny painting I did using nail polish, on the glass of a photo frame. It’s my first attempt at this, and I really quite liked it.

backgrounds not finished, but shows the tiny size of it :D

backgrounds not finished, but shows the tiny size of it πŸ˜€

It’s a spur-winged plover πŸ˜€

with flowers (from DDP Bzz Bzz) and Daily Lacquer Makoto among others

with flowers (from DDP Bzz Bzz) and Daily Lacquer Makoto among others

I did like how you can lift it, and it becomes quite translucent. Not sure how to go about getting rid of those gaps between background and bird without ruining some of the translucence… smaller brushes, perhaps. I was using the nail polish brush and man was it hard to get any detail in.

don't much like the messiness, but it's good to know what I have to improve!

don’t much like the messiness, but it’s good to know what I have to improve!

This is with my mentor at The Learning Connexion now, hopefully she’ll send it back later. Even more hopefully she’ll acknowledge that my nail polish collection can, in fact, be almost arty πŸ˜€

2012_11280016

Have a great, non shaky day!

Ami πŸ™‚

Posted on December 8, 2012, in Sight and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink. 7 Comments.

  1. Just love Mr Plover-Plover (uhh), you still going to make me one? πŸ˜€

  2. Wow that is so cool! And glad to hear that none of your polishes died a sad and honourless death in an earthquake :3
    Also glad you’re okay!

Leave a Reply

