November 8: NO HATE

“Bullying is not funny. It is not cool. It is not right. And more importantly, it is not okay.

Most of us are, thankfully, residents of countries that support tolerance and many of our families have settled in these places simply for that reason. Generations later, it is our responsibility to perpetuate that message of tolerance across our new social platforms, including the internet.

As members of the nail polish blogging community, we all share a love of beauty, color, and lacquer. Other than that, we are remarkably different: from our race to our religion to our hair color…even to our polish application techniques. To marginalize anyone because of those differences is completely unacceptable and today I take a stand against that. I refuse to allow other people’s view of “normal” dictate how I behave, believe, and blog.

In solidarity with a multitude of bloggers linked below, my purple manicure represents my proud commitment to the No H8 movement. Today, November 8, I dedicate my post to ending bullying of any kind and to encouraging diversity and imperfection among our colorful community.”

What a great idea/cause/stand to take. I believe the quote above was origingally started by Nails By Ms Lizard (AMAZING blog, check it out! http://nailsbymslizard.blogspot.co.nz/). The thing is, there’s a wee bit of drama that happens in the nail polish world – and it’s not cool. Neither is the bullying and meaness anywhere. There’s no real need for being mean, we can all adult up, be polite, hold our own boundaries firm without picking fights or being nasty. Right? Sometimes? It’s a goal, anyway. SO, I’d like to support this – I’m in this for the solidarity, the community, and the pretty colours, glitters, and textures.

Here’s my ‘from the already posted’ photo list: my Purple for No Hate (I can’t do the letter/number thing too much, makes me think I’m back in algebra class, shudder) – with accents of pearls, tape, and Sticks ‘n’ Stones. Appropriate, huh. I thought so πŸ˜‰

Have a great day!

Ami πŸ™‚

Posted on November 9, 2012, in Sight, unCommon and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink. 14 Comments.

  1. great looking, thxxx for the support!

    • Thank you for reading! What a great idea too – none of us are perfect, all of us love polish. ‘Tis time for us all to act like adults, methinks. Nice adults! πŸ˜€ And be gentle on each other if/when we slip up, we’re all human. Thanks for the idea! πŸ˜€

  2. Nice work, on both counts! πŸ™‚

  3. Ami, I’m with you on that. Around here — New Orleans — purple is the color of justice. It is one of our Mardi Gras tri-colors. The other two being green and gold. Green being faith and gold being power. The power to act for the other two. πŸ™‚ Good job. — Ray

  4. Ami awesome post! Considering the comment I just received now 😦 this will be my next manicure! πŸ™‚ xx

  5. love this post! What a fantastic thing to incorporate a stand against bullying and nail art. Fashionable + makes a statement. Really great!! x

  6. Love this mani!

  1. Pingback: No H8 a bit L8 « netballnails

Leave a Reply

