Darling Diva Polish: Mitochondrial Eve – Swatches and Layering

Another versatile, stunning, glitter polish from Darling Diva Polish – this is Mitochondrial Eve (from her Battlestar Galactica series).

I had two layering ideas for this – it’s a strong emerald green, mostly, with gold, red, purple and blue accents. Sounds like a mess? It’s not – it’s cunning. Here I have layered one coat of Mitochondrial Eve over two coats of China Glaze Re-Fresh Mint, no top coat:

And because I wanted to show you with TWO layers of Mitochondrial Eve over the Re-Fresh Mint, and Kleancolor Fast Dry topcoat:

This didn’t dry in time, but I blame the Kleancolor. Sometimes it dries quickly, sometimes not. Today was a not day, obviously. This polish combo reminded me of a salad! Yum.

The formula of Mitochondrial Eve was lovely, heaps of glitter but not gluggy – it’s a wipe then dab sort of polish. You know, normal polish brushstrokes (wipe, wipe), then rearrange some bits of glitter with the tip of your brush (dab, dab). Pretty good going for these glitters, most are just full dab, but this IS easy.

I went off to play some music, and realised my nails were too long to hold down the strings of the guitar and bass, so I chopped them. Shame, I really liked them the length they were, but functionality comes first. And then the strings munted my still soft polish… but no crying, because it gave me a chance to do this:

Put it over red (this is an un-named but cute red jelly, two coats). This is only one coat of Mitochondrial Eve, and Kleancolor – Average – Dry topcoat.

I had a feeling that this would make a nice Christmas polish, and I really think I’m right. Although.. over a shimmer or sparkle would be nicer, I think! This, while pretty, more reminded me of a garden. 🙂

Have a colourful day!

Ami 🙂

Posted on November 7, 2012, in Sight and tagged , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink. Leave a comment.

Leave a Reply

