First chicks of the Spring!

This is Feral – a hen I bought, with her 10 chicks, early this year. Well, she’s a ferocious brooder and an awesome mother hen, so I thought I’d be able to sneak some cool eggs under her this year. Beat me to it, didnt’ she – disappeared very early and yesterday popped out with these cuties!

See the wings? That’s a ‘Don’t Mess With Me’ pose. Do not cuddle a chicken that looks like this. She growls, too. It’s awesome!

 

6 in total – the dad is probably the half-Hamburg we ate a month or so ago (he was a meanie to the girls! So he went…). Ah well, his genes survive. And inΒ a -for now anyway – much cuter form.

Welcome to the world, little peeps!

Posted on October 10, 2012, in Sight and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink. 10 Comments.

  1. Awww, cute little fuzzies! πŸ˜€

  2. I wouldnt mess with a chicken that looks like that, but then I am still scared of chickens. Cute babies

    • I need to take a photo of you standing next to a chook and make a competition of ‘guess which one is the chicken!’ πŸ˜€

  3. SO adorable! All black with white bellies…. /faint

    • They are super cute! There’s one larger blueish one, hopefully thats from my blue Orpington roo… but they all have the soft white bellies! πŸ˜€ Thanks for reading!

  4. Eeeee teeny cheeckens! So cute πŸ˜€
    SO FUZZY! πŸ˜€

  5. Super cute! I’d love a pet chick too bad I have a cat!

    • You need a chick with a good mum! I have a cat and a dog and they don’t go near that hen or her chicks:D Thanks for reading πŸ™‚

Leave a Reply

