Day 24: Inspired by a book

Thanks AGAIN to sister V – she came up with the idea of taking inspiration from The Lord of The Rings books: which, you know, I do – they’re awesome books, and were made into pretty darn decent movies.

For the base I used one coat of China Glaze Swanky Silk, then two thin coats of NYC Filthy Rich. The lettering I Googled, then attempted to replicate using my dotting tool and Coral Colors Magnetic Nail – no sticker for the name, but it’s the deep gold one, obviously πŸ˜€ A top coat of Orly In A Snap, and I was good to go!

I’m pretty happy with this – it was fun to do. The best bit was when I was in LUSH and the sales woman saw it, and was very enthused. I love seeing that moment in people – the ‘I can do this myself?’ look – the realisation that nail polish and art can be quite creative with little time and money required. If I’m going to be nitpicky I’d prefer to try this with a little brush, and not let the letters get bigger at the end. But hey, I don’t feel like being nitpicky today. πŸ˜€

Have a happy, creative day!

Ami πŸ™‚

Posted on September 25, 2012, in Sight and tagged , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink. 11 Comments.

  1. Very cool πŸ˜€ Tolkien is my all-time favourite author so I approve!!
    -Del x

    • He is genius! Although… I must say… Silmarillion was not good. But then it wasn’t finished by him, so I forgive him πŸ˜€ I see another One Ring mani on the thumbnails for the day, must stalk that one, she has a MUCH cooler gold polish. I wants it. precciiouuusss. I think my nails probably said One Ring To R… πŸ˜€

  2. That looks amazing, well done! πŸ™‚

  3. Gah!!! So awesome! -_- I keep putting off finding ideas for my “inspired by” section…need to hop to it soon though lol

  4. awesome stuff, love it.

  5. wow ami!! that’s sooooo hot wow!!!!!!!!!

Leave a Reply

