NYX Frizzy Spots – Swatches and Experimentation

Here we have one coat of NYX Frizzy Spots over 1 coat of China Glaze Liquid Leather, and a top coat of Orly Sec ‘n’ Dry.

Very hard to read the label over the dark polish!

This was very pretty, very visually effective with the holographic silver hexs over the shiny shiny black, and very quick to dry. An all around win! I bought the NYX Frizzy Spots from Beauty Joint online, very reasonably priced.

Then I played with Nyx on its own, but that was a fail. A miserable fail. You see, even though it looks black in the bottle, the sheer jelly base of Frizzy Spots is actually smokey quartz colour – grey/brown/black.

NYX Frizzy Spots on it’s own.. all together now, ewwww 😀

This was 4 VERY thick coats to try and reach vague opacity, and it was ugly. Lumpy, patchy, rough and ugly. Also it didn’t dry, even with the top coat (Orly Sec ‘n’ Dry) – but in it’s defence I gave it 10 mins then got rid of it. Because it was ugglyyyyy

Nice sparkle though…

But one thing I did try which was more win than lose was: layering one thin coat of Darling Diva Polish’s Dreamy over the original effort – of one coat of China Glaze Liquid Leather and one coat of Frizzy Spots. See?

China Glaze Liquid Leather, NYX Frizzy Spots, and Darling Diva Polish Dreamy

I liked this, you can still see the colours and sparkle of the large holographic glitters from Frizzy Spots, and it’s still quite dark in colour, but there is also that amazing linear holographic rainbow over the top. Because this was one coat over the one coat each of Liquid Leather and Frizzy Spots, this dried nice and fast, without top coat, in about 5 minutes. I’ll try this again sometime!

Look at that holographic hex flash red! Whooop!

And one more photo, showing this combo and the original Frizzy Spots over Liquid Leather in the background.

Have a great day, everyone!

Posted on August 11, 2012, in Sight and tagged , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink. 8 Comments.

  1. You get serious bang-for-buck in this combo!! Awesome.

    • Thank you! And super cheap for what it was – one coat of everything spares your nail polish 😀 You could probably use a silver holo (unless its a Color Club, they are super pigmented) as a top coat for this, as most are pretty sheer. I’m itching to wear it again! 😀

      • I haven’t done a blog post about it yet BUT I went onto http://www.beautyjoint.com and got some kleancolor and china glaze NPs (on your recommendation). I’m so happy with the service and range they had. I chose the cheapest shipping option and it arrived in 3 working days. Ordered friday morning and it was on my doorstep Tuesday afternoon. That’s insanity to me!! I also got a whole bunch of makeup (ELF brand), because i’ve used a few of their products before and i’m really happy with them all. Especially one of the lip glosses. It’s now my, all day everyday go to lippy. For like $3? Crazy!!

        So a big THANK YOU!!!!

        btw. Where do you buy color club in NZ? I search high and low to no avail. I need a spectraflair topcoat too…. i’m missing out on the buzz.

        🙂

      • Yay! And WOW on the shipping, thats crazy fast! I buy my Color Clubs online too, mostly. From.. Head2Toe beauty. Their shipping runs about the same price here, and they have a big range of China Glaze, Color Club, Essie and Orly plus a few extras. I am HANGING OUT for 3 of the New Bohemian CG range! Eek hurry up pay month. Otherwise, I have found one Unichem pharmacy that sells them here, but no others, so it’s really hard to find in the country 😦 and expensive, too. I’d recommend Etsy for a spectraflair topcoat, several ship here and are reasonably priced, and get in quick before they shut it all down, the suppliers are closing any selling loopholes so most spectraflair will have to be higher priced. SAD!

Leave a Reply

