Layla Mermaid Spell Layered over China Glaze Sea Spray

See, I told you it was possible to layer Layla:  in fact, I prefer it. I only use two coats of the Layla that way, and it’s not patchy to look at in the shade.

This was two coats of China Glaze Sea Spray, and two coats of Layla Mermaid Spell, no top coat.

Layla Mermaid Spell over China Glaze Sea Spray

On my index finger I layered two coats of Darling Diva Polish Dreamy (a spectraflair holographic top coat) over the Coat Azure instead, just for my own interest basically 🙂

Dreamy over Sea Spray – hair is an optional extra, whooops 😀

Layering this over a base colour meant it was easier to work with, used less holographic polish, and the wear time was better, too. I find that Layla Hologram Effects tend to have noticeble tipwear within a few hours of application on me; the down side to thin, fragile coats and no top coat I think. But layered over something else I went the whole day before I noticed wear or chips.

Dreamy on pointer finger, Mermaid Spell on the rest – over Sea Spray

Dreamy is much easier to work with, but gives the China Glaze Sea Spray a definite grey look. I don’t mind, I like grey polish, but it’s good to note that this top coat will change the colour of the polish. It’s not quite as holo-y a holo (heh), but it’s still very nice indeed.

how it all looks at arms length…

Here are some macros for you 🙂

Layla Mermaid Spell over China Glaze Sea Spray:

Layla Mermaid Spell

Darling Diva Polish Dreamy over China Glaze Sea Spray:

Oh, and a gratuitous ring-and-nail polish photo 😀

I love this ring… happy sigh 🙂

Have a great day!

Posted on August 3, 2012, in Sight and tagged , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink. 6 Comments.

  1. I would never have thought to do this!

Leave a Reply

