piCture pOlish orbit and pshiiit – nail art.

There they were, these beautiful nail polishes, crying out to me: “use us together! In some form of nail art! For we are beautiful!”

And as it shall never be said that I ignore nagging nail polishs, here is what I did! 🙂

On my thumb and little finger I had one coat of Color Cosmetics 115 as a base, then 2 coats of pshiiit (amazing). Then I made a sunburst-type pattern with striping tape, and put one coat of orbit over that (one coat is all it needs, just perfect coverage), and topped it (and all fingers!) off with one coat of Orly Sec ‘n’ Dry.

My index and ring fingers again have one coat of 115, and two of pshiiit, then I dotted on orbit. I think these were my favourites, orbit is amazing to dot! Because it stays where it’s put it makes lovely raised dots, and the sparkle is unreal. Like tiny sapphires on my emerald ocean nails.

Then, piece de resistance, I attempted my first ever fishtail braid, using Mary’s technique (posted here) from Swatch and Learn.

I loved that tutorial, easy to follow! Although, in my addle-brained way (I have a fairly nasty headcold. I can’t think properly because I have phlegm where my brain should be), I did put a stripe on in the wrong place, but it can all be painted over.

The polishes I used for the fishtail braid effect were a base of 115 and then one coat of pshiiit, then alternating stripes of orbit, pshiiit, and NYC Filthy Rich. I chose Filthy Rich because it has both silver and gold in it, to try and pull together the silver and gold tones in the piCture pOlish lacquers. I really like the effect! 🙂

Have a great day, everyone, and stay well 🙂

Ami

Posted on July 30, 2012, in Sight and tagged , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink. 13 Comments.

  1. AMAZING mani!! Seriously. I love this!

  2. Oh wow, that looks amazing!

  3. purple glitter is fantabulous, and I must own it!

  4. such a fun mani! I love the color combo

  5. Damn, girl! You’ve got skill!

  6. This .. yeah. Wow. Absolutely stunning, I am so impressed, and kinda sad that nail polish is such a temporary art form. Amazing.

    • Thank you! I kind of see it like baking, or flower arranging… sometimes transience creates a more beautiful object. Plus, I love to chop and change my nail colours 😀 But, I guess an alternative would be painting false nails, which can be resused….

  7. I am amazed at how amazing this mani is! I wish I could do something like this.

    I really like your blog and I was wondering if you would have any interested in joining a beauty blog hop I created just for wordpress users. You can find more information about it here:
    http://sparklegirlslife.wordpress.com/2012/08/06/wordpress-only-beauty-blogger-blog-hop/

Leave a Reply

