Kleancolor Madly Matte – last ditch attempt to make it work!

It’s still raining. Yes. It’s still cold, and polish is still taking longer than normal to dry. But, after my sad experiences with Kleancolor Madly Matte over Kleancolor Aurora (post here), I thought I’d give it another try. This was my third swatch of the day, and they were drying, albeit slowly.

To make it easier I used polishes that I know don’t need many coats, and which dried fast.

This is one coat of CR 113 (the pewter silver shimmer), and one coat of Color Club Wish Upon a Rock Star. Then one (as thin as I could make it) layer of Kleancolor Madly Matte.

And for reference, I put normal top coat (Orly Sec ‘n’ Dry) on my ring finger, and the matte on the other fingers.

I liked the effect, though! 😀

Well… I can’t tell them apart. In the best light, yes, I can see that the Orly top coated nail is a teeny bit more sparkly, but the others are still sparkly.

So.. yes, the middle one is supposed to be shiny, and the other two matte. Hmmmm.

The Sec ‘n’ Dry coated nails dried within 10 mins or so, whereas the Kleancolor Matte felt dryish after 15, but was still dentable after 30 mins.

blurred, to show the shimmer

So, personally, I’d have to NOT recommend this as a top coat, for matte reasons or for quick drying reasons. The big bonus with it, though, is that it’s so thick, it covers the glitter up nicely and makes it smooth. So I’ll keep it, for making a glittery mani smooth under a quick dry top coat, on those occasions where I can rely on not using my hands much for 45 mins or so. Yeah, that won’t happen often. Still, waste not, want not!

Posted on July 29, 2012, in Sight and tagged , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink. 4 Comments.

  1. If you are looking for a good matte top coat, I would sugget Essie Matte About You. I picked it up a few months ago and it works great and the dry time is really quick as well.

    • I’d absolutely take that recommendation! 😀 I had Matte About You, and adored it. Then a child left the lid open and it dried out completely… sob. I will get it again some day, it is a GREAT matte! Thanks 🙂

  2. very good to know! definitely does not look matte!

Leave a Reply

