Kleancolor Aurora – swatches

I bought Kleancolor Aurora from the Coin Store in Palmerston North on Saturday, not long before the sickening, saddening events at Aurora in America. Please know, right from the start, that this is NOT any kind of tribute to the people of Aurora. I cried for you, I hurt for you,  I am furious and shaken that this could happen, and if ever I think that nail polish is a fitting statement of sympathy for a horror of that magnitude, please someone come and slap me.

Thanks.

This is for everyone affected though. I know it’s not enough, and nothing would be, but my thoughts and prayers are with you all. Image source http://imgfave.com/search/bear%20hugs

This, however, being a nail polish in a bottle, is undoubtedly named for the solar lights in our atmosphere: although, you know what? It doesn’t look like them.

Kleancolor Aurora

Pretty though! This is tiny glitter and larger hexagonal green/yellow iridescent glitter and large pink stars in a pinkish clear jelly base. Sort of glittery candyfloss in a bottle.

This is definitely a layering polish and so, inspired by Scrangie’s swatches of Vernis Classique (read it here), I decided to layer it over Essie Coat Azure. Yes, she used grey. I didn’t want to out and out copy. Partially  because wow would that make my pitiful skills look bad 😀

Kleancolor Aurora is quite thick. QUITE thick. You do have to fish around to get the stars out, and the base is gel consistency. This… was sort of lumpy. I had dinner to cook, and was running out of time, and thought to myself ‘ooh, I know, Kleancolor Madly Matte! Mattes dry fast, and I like to matte glitter, lets give this a go!’.

Well, it went badly. Kleancolor Madly Matte came out of the bottle like snail snot, not in speed but texture (sorry anyone eating breakfast!). And it stayed where I put it, like a jelly lump. And it didn’t dry. To be fair, nothing is drying at the moment; it’s winter, cold and clammy and raining but seriously, after 10 minutes this was still wet. WET wet, not damp or tacky – like I had just put it on.

So I wiped it off, and started again, and I’ll show you THAT attempt soon 🙂

So.. to sum up.

  • Kleancolor Aurora is pretty
  • It is also thick, a bit gloopy, you have to fish for the stars although you get several little blingy bits with ease
  • It looks nice over Essie Coat Azure (which did seem to be drying, albeit slower than normal)
  • I’m going to have to withhold judgement on Kleancolor Madly Matte, so far I haven’t been impressed, but it could well be environmental and/or user error with it. Oh how I miss my Essie Matte About You. I LOVED that matte top coat.
Posted on July 25, 2012, in Uncategorized and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink. 4 Comments.

  1. What a shame! It does look like such a pretty polish too.

    • It is gorgeous. Even if I only ever admire it in the bottle, it’s still worth admiring 😀 I did manage to make a better attempt, so that’s something. 🙂 Have a nice day!

Leave a Reply

