Australis Brush-On Perfection Eyeshadow in Warhol

Bought from Reduced to Clear (I know, cringy name, but they sometimes have cheap cosmetics and they always have cheap chocolate!) for $2.

There were 3 colours in the shop, I chose this one as it looked like it could be a neutral OR a goldish toned shimmer from the colour circle on the base:

Why yes, yes I WAS feeling optimistic that day 🙂

The colour circle is on a button, that you click to deliver the eyeshadow to the brush…

Blurry brush shot – it’s a nice enough brush, I guess, soft but nylon-y.

and click and click and clickedy clickedy click click click.. .check… click clickclickclickclickclickclickclickclickclickclickclickclick.. etc. For purposes of review, I carefully counted my clicks so I could tell you how many it took. Well, it took 35 before I went mental and just clicked frantically.

[NB: Frantic clicking hurts the button. If it gets stuck down you can take it off, put it back on, and it still works fine.]

This was a cream, not a powder. THAT was a suprise. And because its a cream, not a powder, when it eventually came out onto the brush, it kept coming out, and out, and out, and getting curlier: quite like a stood-upon toothpaste tube.

Camera wouldn’t focus, I guess it didn’t want to look either.

But, here it is, swatched over bare skin.

Its orangey nude. And very greasy. It creased INSTANTLY, even over eyeshadow primer, and just didn’t look good at all. Maybe it was because there was so much on my brush (yes, I took most of it off, but.. it was pretty saturated). I don’t know if I’d bother trying this again. Brush on eyeshadow, yes. Perfection? Well, not for me!

The good news, it was cheap. The bad news, it was.. well, cheap. I’ll stick to my Dollface, Ro Vie, and Chromatic Cosmetic shadows, I think.

Posted on July 11, 2012, in Sight and tagged , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink. 5 Comments.

  1. Oo cool! I have the lip and cheek pen. I didn’t know they even have eye shadows in this form. So cool! x

    • I think a lip pen like this may be cool – how are they? I seriously wouldn’t bother buying one of these eyeshadows, I could overlook the randomness of the application if it wasn’t so greasy in formula, but still a lot of fun to play with 🙂

  2. yeah its fun. Kinda sticky though, not sure how I feel about that! yeah I like the application of it x

  3. I don’t much like cream eyeshadows, even with a primer I think I have oily lids because even powders crease on me. If powders crease… can you imagine the cream drama?! That said, I really like the NYX Jumbo Eye Pencils.
    -Del xx

Leave a Reply

