First real nail art attempt: Dragon Nails

I’ve always admired nail art, but never given it a go. I enjoy playing around with dots and stripes, but I don’t really consider that art.. more nail dressing, if you will.

My neighbour told me about a nail art competition, so I thought it would be a good opportunity to actually try some freehand nail art, and because it’s me and I love dragons, I thought I’d do a Chinese style dragon. I had to put the head on my thumbnail, because otherwise it was a very stumpy dragon. So that involved some interesting hand positions to get the photos.. but here we are!

Sorry about the out-of-focus bits, I couldn’t get it all in the frame!

Background is Coral Colors no name turqouise/teal – I’ll post those swatches soon. The dragon itself has a moderately large amount of polishes, let me know if you want to know what they are and I’ll list them.

Close up of the head…

What do you think? I’m really quite happy with this! It took ages, and it’s a mile high off my nail – I finished it with the car paint top coat to smooth things over. When I hold my hand normally it looks like the dragons head has flown off. All in all, quite amusing πŸ™‚

Have a great day,

Ami πŸ™‚

Posted on June 12, 2012, in Sight and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink. 10 Comments.

  1. Love this! Nice work πŸ˜€

  2. Oh! So awesome!!!!!
    -Del xx

  3. I love it! πŸ™‚ Great work!

  4. wow, that is super impressive, a big bird for my nails this weekend?

  5. Looks amazing!!! ❀
    -megan

Leave a Reply

