Easy DIY Jewellery Hanging Rack Thingies

I’ve been meaning to make these for awhile, as I like to have my jewellery (and, well, everything but mostly that isn’t allowed to happen anymore sob sob) organised and available. I have a earring stand, and a necklace rack, but wanted to make one for bangles and bracelets, and another for rings.My neighbour gave me a bit of wood (this is thick MDF), and I saw her wallpaper a stand last night, so the idea was born. I have wallpaper! I HATE painting MDF! Aha! Eureka! (thanks, neighbour N. You are creatively inspirational, AND you rock.)

So, here, broken down into many superflous steps: jewellery hanging thingies.

wallpaper, PVA glue, wood.

Get your wood,and your wall paper. Also glue, and tape (because I saw that the glue doesn’t stick straight away), and scissors. Cut out how much paper you’ll need. Because I have this wallpaper for my caravan, I was as stingy with it as I could be, and thats why I needed to have two bits for the longer (bracelet) bit of wood.

Paper, wood, scissors – scissors WINS!

Glue the wood on front and long sides, and the overlap around the back. I found it easiest to pull the paper tight, then tack it down with a bit of tape. Have tape ready cut and waiting, as you’ll only have one hand to tape with. Then tape down the other side, pulling tight across the front, minimise the bubblies. Good thing with textured paper? Can’t see them so much…

Tape to hold down the paper until the glue grabs it

On the short edges, cut down all four corners. Then cut the back bits off… glue along the wood, fold the sides in, then the front back over and tape along the back. Rinse, repeat.

Because I had two pieces for the bracelet board, I tried to make it look a bit more matched up – it’s never going to be exact with this pattern, but it definitely looked better this way up. With the longer board I had to tape the whole of one side to the back, then the other – the paper was long enough to have enough weight to peel the tape off, so go for gold to hold it down until the glue starts working.

I DO have fingers,and I’m NOT at a rock concert. I just.. do weird things with my hands while I’m working, ok?! 😀

To tidy up the edges, I just used more tape (of course! I love the stuff!). A small square over the edges, fold down the shorter side on the 45 degree angle, then fold the remnant straight down. Because it’s longer, there is a tacky edge which holds the lot in place. I’m not fussy, you can probably tell. If it looks alright, and it’s serving it’s purpose, I’m just fine with that.

Folded over two of the corners.. hah, you may have a fingerprint, but you’ll still need a retina scan to access the Master System of Destruction!!!

Then, in this case, fold the  the top side of the sticky tape down..

And then the side remaining tape just folds over neatly into place. Supposedly.

 

Ta da!

Then.. lots of nails. I even tried to use a ruler to keep my bracelet side nails straight. Ahahaha. I can’t cut straight, or rule a line straight, no matter how hard I try. I did deliberately leave the other side much wider spaced, you’ll see why soon enough.

The nails I used, and the concept for hanging the bangles. Does anyone else have pot luck nails like this? Drives me crazy, but hey. I guess hide-and-seek for the right nails never hurt anyone…

The ring hanger. I gave up on Mr Ruler by this stage. Can you tell?

And here is the bracelet holder on my wall.. wow, terrible photo. It didn’t like the light in that room! I tied the string (it’s silver, you can’t tell here, but I’ll get a better photo when we get some sun) onto the nail, then tied a loop at the other end. Then you can just pop the string through the bangle, and loop it back up to the nail – takes up much less space and doesn’t allow the jewellery to fire randomly off into the room. Always a bonus.

How to make a similar earring holder – in case anyone wants to know – just take the back and glass out of a picture frame, then staple a double layer of mesh up along the back. Done!

The ring holder.. and the top of my necklace holder. Thats the same concept as these, just painted instead. I made this years ago, and used pins rather than nails – little nails are much better.

So, there you go! I’ve finally able to get it all organised, and clear out the space where they were. I have a few more bits to repair and then they can go up on the hangers, and then I’m all organised. Of course my bedroom looks like a jewellery bazaar… but… I’m SO okay with that 😉

 

Posted on June 6, 2012, in Sight, unCommon and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink. 6 Comments.

  1. awesome idea hon, I think that I really need one for my necklaces, they get tangles all the time. i like it.

  2. Those look great! I love it!

    You mentioned the caravan… I’d love to see some progress pictures! I’ve been dying to see what you’ll do with it!

    ~Daniél

    • thank you! Um, yeah, I need to make some progress on it, then take some progress photos XD. Its winter, and its cooollldd… and I really, really do need to get back on to it. Thanks for the incentive! 🙂

  3. OEHH o_O YES! Awesome!
    There’s a free space on my wall next to my make-up stash, so this is perfect!

    • Thank you! I love being able to see (and not have to untangle) my jewellery, so this is functional – and can be pretty attractive too I think. Take photos when you’ve done it, I’d love to see! 😀

Leave a Reply

