OPI DS Magic – Swatches

See? This is my mother through and through – do not pass $2 shop nail polishes, go straight to OPI DS and Layla. πŸ˜€

I love it.

Love this polish, too.

See the pretty purple flash? Noice!

OPI’s Designer Series is their pricier end polishes (and here in NZ that’s saying something – the regular OPI’s retail for $27ish, and the Designer Series are usually a good $10 more than that) – and they used to be holographic, but now are usually glass flecked or a different finish. Magic is a blue-purple duochrome, with electric blue glass fleck (little balls, not flakies! And yes, I realise how that sounds, stop snigger ok?!)

These swatches are three coats, Revlon Colourstay base coat, and L’Oreal Quick Dry top coat. Magic is moderately sheer, though almost all visible nail line is gone in two coats, but it does need the third to reach bottle colour.Β  Don’t skip the base coat, either. My mother doesn’t have base coat… so after using this polish she now has little blue berries for finger nails. heh heh heh. You’ve been warned… though, seriously, don’t use blue/green/purple colours without a base coat, you’re asking for trouble πŸ˜€

I tried to capture some of the purple flash, but I couldn’t do it. Which is a shame, because it’s very obvious in real life. The electric blue is definitely predominant, but the purple is there every time you flick your hand.

Full hand shot

I really like this colour! My favourite colour in the whole world is electric blue, and my fav nail polish colour is purple, so this is a complete win as far as I’m concerned. It is quite in-your-face colour, certainly not shy and retiring. πŸ™‚

Posted on May 30, 2012, in Sight and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink. 4 Comments.

  1. Every time I walk into a Farmers store I drool over the OPI DS series, and this is exactly why. Wowza! So beautiful.
    Wish I had money to afford these!
    -Del xx
    P.S. Yaaaay more rings! It’s a whaaaale!

    • meee tooo! I have DS mystery – and I love that one. Second hand though, of course, for obvious reasons. I want some of their earliest ones! They had some at the cosmetics sale recently, but I didn’t even have the $12 there, and that’s a GOOD price. In time, most things, right? Hehehe yep, definitely a whale! Painted with China Glaze Blue Years Eve… πŸ˜€

  2. I love it! Love the whale, too.

    ~D

Leave a Reply

