This mornings surprise visitor.

Got up early, quick shower, then sitting at the computer trying to see if WordPress would work so I could load this mornings post, before our day trip to Wellington.

Tickle tickle, on my leg – mid thigh – under my trackpants. Oh dear, that had better be the cloth tickling! Tickle tickle – so I check, and this is who I found.

Poor thing, I think I hurt her when I rubbed at the tickle, trying to pretend it wasn’t a critter. I managed to conquer my oobies enough to pick her up, take the photo, then put her outside. Proud of myself, I really like spiders UNLESS they are on me, in which case it’s squeal like a girl time. But not today!

I think these are called Brown Vagrant Spiders, and the girls are fuzzy, thick bodied and brown and the boys more grey with really long legs. They can get MUCH bigger then this, they bite if stood on (fair enough!) – ouchies but not toxic. And they are FAST. When they run under the arch of your bare foot to hide it feels like a mouse – they’re fuzzy. All things I haveΒ become experienced with since living out in the country. Puts hair on me chest. Veet is gonna LOVE me. hehehe

Posted on May 9, 2012, in Sight, Touch, unCommon and tagged . Bookmark the permalink. 16 Comments.

  1. I like spiders, and I think I just shrieked like a girl. Kudos to you!
    *hides in the corner whimpering*

    • Hahaha! I was brave. All the way out of the house, found a safe spot, very brave. When I went to gently urge her off she moved, and then my control broke and I *may* have flung her off fairly quickly. Oops. Not so brave, then πŸ˜€

  2. you are so brave ; I’d be utterly terrified!

    • It wasn’t one of those feel good moments, roll up my trouser leg and find a medium-large furry spider. But I felt worse for hurting her then I felt scared, so that helped! πŸ™‚

      • That is the ultimate in kindness! My boyfriend does the animal rescue most days, especially if its a bug, and I just stand idly by or otherwise just freak out when there are little creatures with 6 legs running around in my vicinity. I don’t know what it is, but I’m glad you were able to save the spider!

      • Thank you! I don’t know if I saved it, but it definitely has a better chance outside, as long as my chickens don’t see it. Trackpants should NOT, as far as I’m concerned, be spiders natural habitat. Brrrrr. But they are fascinating animals, there’s so many interesting insects πŸ™‚

      • You have chickens? How cool! How is it living in NZ ? I’ve never been, but the photos look so lovely! Agreed about insects being fascinating. They may be small, but a lot of them function in really captivating ways.

      • I have almost 60 chickens – some of which I hope will find good homes soon πŸ˜€ I love it here – it’s pretty small, very varied ladscapes and environments, cost of living is moderately high but quality of life is high too, for most of us, I think. Certainly for me! I’d love to visit more countries, will have to wait for now. Plus, some insects are just stunningly beautiful in colouring and patterns πŸ˜€

      • That’s crazy cool! How do you keep track of them all? Yeah that’s good that you enjoy where you live. πŸ™‚ Makes it worth it. I agree, NZ seems like such a varied place with lots of diverse environments.

  3. Yikes I squealed when ur picture appeared. I envy ur bravery!!

  4. OMG I would have totally been running around the room shrieking! Furry and spider should never be used together.

    • fuzzy wuzzy spider… πŸ˜€
      I like the furry ones much better then the slippery looking shiny ones. They all look venomous to me. I would have jumped out of my skin if it was a shiny spider. We all have our things, hey! Makes life fun πŸ˜€

Leave a Reply

