St Patricks Day Manicure – because, why not?

I don’t normally (as in, never before), go out celebrating St Patrick day. My last name is Irish, so I assume I could legitimately claim some of the party action, but as I don’t know WHO it was in my family were Irish, I was always reluctant. Not this year. Bring on the party, I’m there! So – out comes the green polish.

Posing with a Guinness Can. Seemed appropriate.

This was Colour Club Holiday Splendour – 2 coats, on 4 nails. Awesome polish, stunning colour, big chunky holographic glitter. Goes on well, chips fast. Gritty! So pretty. One the accent nails I had 1 coat of China Glaze Re-Fresh Mint.

Then, on all nails, I taped a diagonal and added 1 THICK coat of China Glaze Glittering Garland (LOVE this polish!).

Then one layer of the un-named Japanese holographic top coat, because it wasn’t yet so blingy you could see it from space. After that, it was.

Heres another few photos!

Blurred for extra bling.

 

 

Then, just because OTT is THE way to go, sometimes, I added a stick on blingy thing – from a packet from the $2 Shop. I used nail glue to hold it on, then glued my finger to my fingernail when pressing it on. Still, it worked out in the end!

Sparkles! You can see it was chipping already on my index finger - sad. But still, pretty!

Posted on March 18, 2012, in Sight and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink. 6 Comments.

  1. Love the green! I am Irish (all of my mom’s grandparents came to the US from the Emerald Isle) so I celebrate all the way! ~Charlie~

  2. Love the polish! Very cool.

    I’m a little clueless on my ancestry as well. I’d like to take up genealogy some day… It just seems like so much work!

    ~Daniél

    • I think its too hard. Especially in my mangrove-thicket of a family tree. I don’t know why ancesterly people would be disapproving of OUR lifestyles, there’s always an interesting skeleton or two from their day! I also think it’s heaps more fun to just make up stories:D

  3. I’ve been pretty fortunate with my family. Parts came together pretty well — those who were recent immigrants (6 of my 8 great grandparents were born in Europe) were the hardest because they were poor in Europe and records weren’t kept so well. But they weren’t so far back that no one knows their stories. My grandfather is still alive and has told me all sorts of things about his parents and why they came here and all about Uncle So-and-So. It made it easier to track them down.

    And all of my family came from English speaking countries so I didn’t have to rely on translations. Super helpful!

    My 2 great grandparents who were born here had their family immigrate to the US and Canada back when England and France still owned them. There are a lot of societies here I could tap into like the Daughters of the American Revolution and the Mayflower Society, which have a lot of information.

    If either of you want any help getting started, lemme know. I could talk family history for hours. HOURS. 🙂

    ~Charlie~

    • Wow! I have an envy! 😀 My mother is Hungarian, so we run smack-bang into language and cultural barriers there: we have no idea of what family we have over there. My fathers side.. well.. mangrove thicket. I do wish I knew, though! It sort of feels odd not knowing who most of my great-grandparents were.

Leave a Reply

